Happy Birthday, Mommy.

Though we may be many miles apart,
You must know how dear I hold you in my heart;
I can’t imagine what I’d be, if not for you,
And this praise is really quite long-overdue.

You often talk as if I accomplished these goals,
These dreams and ideas;
These hopes in my soul,
By the simple willpower I have within,
Or by my own accord with nothing to give.

But the truth of the matter in this situation
Is that I couldn’t have done these things
Without your affirmations;
Without your support and constant loving care,
Without you as a mother,
Without you always there.

Not many I know are as lucky as I,
To have such a beautiful soul by their side
And to have had been raised by one with such pride,
I’m so proud you’re my Mother,
I’m so proud you’re my guide.

Leave a Reply

