Never Here

Do I look a little tired?
A little stressed?
A little drained?

Do I look a little broken?
A little hurt?
A little maimed?

Do I look a little hollow?
A little shook?
A little feared?

Do I look a little useless?
A little high?
A little teared?

Do I look like I need a savior;
Or someone to help me on my way?

Do I look like I need a caretaker;
Or someone to make me stay?

Do I look like I need a hero;
Someone to save my life?

Do I look like I need a martyr?
Someone to sacrifice?

I know all your reasons for wanting me to live.
I know all your contemplations about what I have to give.
I know all your excuses for why you’re always there.
know all your white lies to make me try to care.

I know you only want to help me,
And for that I do approve.
You’re a good person for doing so;
Even if I won’t be consumed.

I must say.
You need to try.
And stay away.

You can’t save me from myself.
I’m in too deep; in a hole.
You can’t make me care or healthy;
I’m content watching this drama unfold.

You can’t try and make me love you;
When I know I should stay away.
You should only try to distance;
It’ll hurt less this way.

Just trust me.
I’ve done this before.
And had death knocking at my door.
Never here; forever more.

Leave a Reply

